Return To GemBlog

2022 GEM Awards will honor Lussier, Schwartz, others

The 2022 GEM Awards, presented by Jewelers of America, will take place in New York tomorrow night, marking the event’s 20th anniversary. Conceived in 2001, the gala’s purpose is to raise the visibility of the fine jewelry and watch industry by honoring its leaders, creators and luminaries. The black tie affair will take place at Cipriani 42nd Street, beginning at 6:30 pm with a social hour, followed by the GEM Awards dinner.

Stephen Lussier
Stephen Lussier

Lifetime Achievement Award

The GEM Award for Lifetime Achievement is given to an institution or individual for a career’s worth of contributions to the fine jewelry and watch industry and for setting a standard of excellence that serves as an inspiration to industry colleagues.

The 2022 GEM Award for Lifetime Achievement is being presented to Stephen Lussier, Chairman of DeBeers’ Jewelers and DeBeers’ Forevermark, Executive Vice-President of Brands & Consumer Markets for the DeBeers’ Group, Chairman of the Natural Diamond Council and a member of the Board of Directors for the Responsible Jewellery Council.

Law Roach

Jewelry Style Award

Jewelry Style Award honorees consistently raise the visibility of fine jewelry and watches through personal style that inspires consumer desire for fine jewelry.

The 2022 GEM Award for Jewelry Style is being presented to Lorraine Schwartz, an iconic jewelry designer best known for creating one of the most identifiable fine jewelry brands today. Her designs have been widely coveted by iconic style makers and global influencers including Beyoncé, Blake Lively, Kim Kardashian, Pharrell Williams, Adele, Jennifer Lopez, and Angelina Jolie.

More Honorees

Honorees in three additional categories have been judged by a committee of 12 executives in the jewelry and watch industry with expertise in design, retail, media and marketing. The winners will be revealed live at the GEM Awards ceremony.

Jewelry Design

Honorees for Jewelry Design are Beth Bugdaycay, Brent Neale Winston and Lauren Harwell Godfrey.

Lauren Harwell Godfrey

Media Excellence

Annabel Davidson, Daisy Shaw-Ellis and Melanie Grant are honorees for Media Excellence.


Retail Excellence

Retail Excellence honorees include Marissa Collections, MUSE, and Saks Fifth Avenue.


See prior years’ winners.

In 2009, Jewelry Information Center merged with Jewelers of America, the leading trade association representing businesses serving the fine jewelry marketplace. Jewelers of America continues the mission of Jewelry Information Center; to honor and support those who shine a positive spotlight on fine jewelry and watches. The list of GEM Award honorees historically includes notable designers, editors, respected media personalities and legendary brands.

2020 GEM Awards Highlights

Subscribe to our GemBlog

Receive a weekly roundup of intelligence and insight from our expert team of gemologists and jewelry enthusiasts.

"*" indicates required fields